SA university SRCs join academic boycott of Israel

Five SRC presidents pledged to join the student academic and cultural boycott of Israel after a press briefing yesterday.

Student Representative Council (SRC) presidents from the University of South Africa (Unisa), Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, Mangosutho University of Technology and the University of the Western Cape gathered in Pretoria to announce their participation in the academic and cultural boycott of Israel.

The announcement came after the minister of Higher Education and Training, Blade Nzimande was denied a visa to travel to Palestine via Israel. The boycott is in line with the South African Union of Students’ 2011 mandate which stated that “all South African campuses must be Apartheid-Israel free zones”.

The leaders of the SRCs will now drive the boycott at their various institutions. The move follows closely on the heels of last month’s call by the African National Congress (ANC) and its partners to expel the Israeli ambassador to South Africa.

The press conference was hosted by BDS or Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions at Unisa.