VowFM nominated for 14 MTN Radio Awards

Wits campus radio station VowFM is celebrating the news of 14 nominations in the MTN Radio Awards. VowFM is the second most nominated station in the campus radio section of the awards. 

The finalists for the 2015 MTN Radio Awards have been announced and Wits campus radio station, Voice of Wits (VowFM), has been nominated 14 times.

The shows which were nominated are The Morning Shake-up, Breaking Ground, La Bonne Vie, The Science Inside, Kpop Fridays and Sports Hub. The News and Actuality feature Today in SA has also been nominated, as well as packages and documentaries from Law Focus.

The Morning Shake-Up presenter, Mpumi Mlambo has been nominated for the Breakfast Show Presenter award.

“I didn’t believe it, I thought there was a mistake,” Mlambo said.  She says that people can now understand why she wakes up early every morning to do her show although she is not getting paid for it.

Kpop Experience is a Korean Pop music show and it’s interesting that it was recognised by the panel.”

VowFM Programme’s Manager, Lerato Makate said, “I am excited about every nomination. It is interesting that VowFM is one of the few campus stations that has talk shows and we are getting recognition for them. Kpop Experience is a Korean Pop music show and it’s interesting that it was recognised by the panel.”

Last year VowFM won four awards and they are hoping to get even more this year.


HEAR IT, FEEL IT, LIVE IT: Ziyanda Ngcobo, Samkele Kaase, Mpumi Mlambo and Macthomas Ntuli are some of the the Vowfm presenters whose shows have been nominated for the MTN Radio Awards 2015. Photo: Queenin Masuabi

VowFM’s strongest competitor, University of Pretoria’s TuksFM, has been nominated nineteen times. This has made TuksFM the most nominated in the campus radio category. TuksFM dominated the category in 2014 winning nine awards, including Station of the year.

TuksFM Station Manager Dewald Noel says they are excited to be nominated for the Programme Innovation Award.

“We are nominated along with commercial radio … We are really proud,” Noel said.

Other stations which were nominated in the campus radio category include the University of Stellenbosch’s MFM, with fourteen nominations and the University of Johannesburg’s UJFM, with ten nominations.

The awards were open to all ICASA-licensed radio stations in South Africa and this year there were 1 750 entries. A category was added for Field News Reporter following suggestions by constituents within the radio industry.

The finalists in the Station of the Year category, the inductees for Bright Stars, Hall of Fame and Lifetime Achiever will be announced on March 31. The finalist in the “My Station listener” competition will be announced on April 8.

The 2015 MTN Radio Awards Gala Banquet will take place on April 18 at the Sandton Convention Centre.