PSL celebrates top players

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) finished off the 2014/15 with its annual awards ceremony at the Sandton Convention Centre last night.

Kaizer Chiefs’ Tefu Mashamaite walked away with half a million rands and the title of the best player in the Premier Soccer League last night. Mashamaite also won the defender of the season and players’ player of the season awards at the

Another big winner for the evening was veteran midfielder Teko Modise of Mamelodi Sundowns. The 32-year-old Modise walked away with awards for midfielder of the season and player of the tournament in the Nedbank Cup.

Bidvest Wits, who finished third in the PSL at 52 points, went into the awards with three nominations.  Moneeb ‘Slimkat’ Josephs took the goalkeeper of the season nod while Phumlani Ntshangase was chosen as the young player of the season.

Wits’ Thulani Hlatshwayo was also nominated but lost the defender of the season award to Mashamaite.

Kazier Chiefs were the biggest winners of the evening, with two pieces of silverware under their belt from the MTN 8 and the ABSA Premiership 2014/15 title. Coach Stuart Baxter of Amakhosi Amahle walked away with coach of the season and George Maluleke was the last man standing in the MTN 8.

A complete list of the winners is below:


Champions: SuperSport United

Player of the Tournament: Dove Wome (Supersport United)

MTN 8:

Champions: Kazier Chiefs

Last Man Standing (player of the tournament): George Maluleke (Kazier Chiefs)

All three nominated players in this category were from Kazier Chiefs

Nedbank Cup:

Champions: Mamelodi Sundowns

Player of the Tournament: Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Tournament: Tashreeq Morris (Ajax Cape Town)

Other awards within the PSL:

Top Goal scorer in the National First Division: Phumelele Bhengu (Thanda Royal Zulu)

Multichoice Diski Challenge Player of the Tournament: Dikgang Ngcobo (University of Pretoria)

Referee of the Season: Phillip Tinyani

Assistant Referee of the Season: Peter Chauke

Chairman’s Award: Botha Msila – staunch supporter of Bloemfontein Celtics

ABSA Premiership

Goalkeeper of the Season: Moneeb Josephs (Bidvest Wits)

Young Player of the Season: Phumlani Ntshangase (Bidvest Wits)

Coach of the Season: Stuart Baxter (Kazier Chiefs)

Top Goal Scorer of the Season: Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars)

ABSA Premiership Champs: Kazier Chiefs

Defender of the Season: Tefu Mashamaite (Kazier Chiefs)

Midfielder of the Season: Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal: Menzi Masuku (Orlando Pirates)

Players’ player of the Season (voted for by other players): Tefu Mashamaite (Ka9izer Chiefs)

Footballer of the Season (voted for by the 16 PSL coaches): Tefu Mashamaite (Kaizer Chiefs)

VoW FM takes four radio awards


MTN RADIO AWARDS: Mvangeli Nzuza won himself the News Reader (sport) award at the glittering ceremony at the Sandton Convention Centre last night.
Photo: Provided

Wits campus radio station Voice of Wits (VoWfm) is celebrating a scoop of four radio awards at a glittering ceremony at the Sandton Convention Centre last night.

The team walked away with four MTN Radio Awards: News and Actuality Show: Law Focus (Female Miners), Drama Programme: Law Focus: (The Right Stuff and Female Miners), and News and Actuality Producer: Paul McNally (Municipal By Laws and Creches in SA Townships). Mvangeli Nzuza won the Best News Reader (sports) award. 

Speaking to Wits Vuvuzela this morning, station manager Michael Smurthwaite said “For the station it is a great step forward and shows the year on year growth” as the station entered the awards for the very first time in 2013 and only managed seven nominations and one award in the Bright Young Star category.

[pullquote]”Law Focus is about making our community legally literate about their rights, that certainly deserves recognition”[/pullquote]

“It’s absolutely fantastic to obtain awards in recognition of work done, especially when the awards confirm, that in the specific areas you were recognised, you were the best within the industry in the past year … These awards also encompass what a community station is about. Programming that is collaborative and works with its community structures,” said Smurthwaite.

Three of the awards obtained are for programming created in partnership with the Wits Radio Academy and the station. The radio academy is the academic space within Wits University that focuses on radio and is home to the VowFM radio station.

Xoli Matomela, news editor and executive producer for the Wits Radio Academy, said “A lot of hard work with an amazing team paid off last night. Law Focus is about making our community legally literate about their rights, that certainly deserves recognition,”

“For all those who were nominated and who won, I as station manager am extremely proud and highly appreciative of their hard work, commitment and dedication,” said Smurthwaite