Incumbent SRC president Tebogo Thothela.
Photo: Jay Caboz

The Progressive Youth Alliance (PYA) fell one candidate short of a third consecutive clean sweep in this year’s SRC elections.

Wits Registrar Kirti Menon announced the results to over 100 students outside the Great Hall steps on Friday August 24.

Members and supporters of the PYA formed a circle and had been singing for at least an hour before the announcement. Of the 30 403 students on the voter’s roll there was only a 20% voter turnout, a  4% increase from last year.

The 2012/2013 SRC election results

The top 15 candidates will form next year’s SRC.

PYA candidates and members marched to the Matrix after the announcement to celebrate their victory. Torn campaign posters belonging to the Democratic Alliance Student Organisation (DASO) were seen along the route they took although it is not clear who was responsible for this.

In a related issue, Dominic Khumalo, a PYA candidate, was apparently excluded from the elections, although the chief electoral officer confirmed that he submitted a letter withdrawing his nomination.