2016’s top matriculants honoured at Wits.

Twenty of the country’s top matriculants of 2016 who are in their first year at Wits were honoured by the vice chancellor (VC), Professor Adam Habib for academic excellence. The students were celebrated at the VC’s Scholarship and Equity awards last Saturday, May 13, at Wits Club. Among the attendees were the scholarship recipients, their parents, guardians, and school principals.

The VC expressed gratitude to the families and principals saying that, “They (the students), wouldn’t be here without the support you provided them with”.

Habib said, “This is an incredible achievement, these young men and women represent hope. They are not simply great students, Witsies, professionals but also great human beings.”

The VC spoke lauded the students for choosing Wits and spoke of the institution’s recent achievements including the launch of R500-million partnership with IBM, with a research laboratory located in Braamfontein, where students can learn and do their internships.

He also touched on the protests which have been happening on the institution, saying that he understand the call for access to all regardless of their backgrounds.

Academic excellence : recipients of the VC scholarship Photo by Nonkululeko Njilo

Recipients of the VC’s scholarship pictured with Prof Adam Habib outside the Wits Club.           Photo: Nonkululeko Njilo

“The problem is, for the last 20 years the government has been giving us lower and lower subsidies. We’ve had to increase fees because we want to ensure that the quality of the work in this institution remains,” said Habib.

Wits registrar, Carol Crosley, described the event as special saying that “we acknowledge these students and the fact that they come to Wits means a lot to us.”

The awardees of the vice chancellor’s scholarship are:

  • Carly Gersohn from King David High School
  • Nishkar Gopal from Greenbury Secondary School
  • Nikita  Jugmohan from Edenglen High
  • Blessing Khanyile from Maxeke Secondary School
  • Maxine Khumalo from Durban Girls High School
  • Tasmiyah Laher from Jeppie High School for Girls
  • Zaheerah Limbada from Merrifield College
  • Victor Madonsela from Mpuluzi Secondary School
  • Mmaphuthi Decican Makgabo from Ivory Park Secondary School
  • Anelisa Marwanqana from Mariazell High School
  • Dhannya Mathew from Clarendon High School
  • Mmakwena Jesca Matlou from Dendron High School
  • Ariel Mazabow from Yeshiva Maharsha
  • Connor Mercer from St Johns College
  • Anastacia Mkhondo from Mmiditsi High School
  • Rifumo Progress Mzimba  from Masana High School
  • Xabiso Ncanywa from Sangoni Senior Secondary School
  • Malamba Nemavhadwe from Tshivhase Secondary School
  • Ankonisaho Nenungwi from Mbilwi Senior Secondary
  • Tshepiso Ishmael Tsotetsi from Jet Nteo Secondary School